Eastmont School District Teacher Named Finalist for National Teaching Award

Superintendent of Public Instruction Chris Reykdal announced Veronique Paquette, a teacher at Kenroy Elementary in the Eastmont School District, has been selected as a state-level finalist for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Technology. Three other teachers from throughout the state were also selected.

The state-level finalists are:


  • Veronique Paquette (NBCT*), a second-grade teacher at Kenroy Elementary in Eastmont School District.
  • Julie Fry (NBCT*), a first-grade teacher at Roosevelt Elementary in Yakima School District.
  • Angela Salo, a fifth-grade teacher at DeLong Elementary in Tacoma School District.


  • Matthew Pederson, a fifth-grade teacher at Weyerhaeuser Elementary in Eatonville School District.

*NBCT: National Board-Certified Teacher

A statewide committee of content area experts and award-winning teachers selected the finalists over the summer.

“Congratulations to the four excellent teachers being recognized this year,” said Superintendent Reykdal. “Angela, Julie, Matthew, and Veronique are exemplary proof of the impact you can make in the lives of our students. Thank you for teaching in our state, for being leaders in your field, and for supporting Washington’s youngest learners.”

Award recipients are typically announced in the spring. State-level finalists are recognized by regional and state math and science associations. They are also invited to several annual state events for award winning educators.

About OSPI

The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) is the primary agency charged with overseeing K–12 education in Washington state. Led by State School Superintendent Chris Reykdal, OSPI works with the state’s 295 school districts and nine educational service districts to administer basic education programs and improve student achievement on behalf of more than one million public school students.