Menu Close

Seven schools within NCESD area awarded School of Distinction honors

Seven schools within the North Central Educational Service District (NCESD) area have been awarded School of Distinction honors by the Center for Educational Effectiveness.

Each school is being recognized as one of the 5% highest improving schools in the State of Washington for increased ELA/Math achievement and Graduation Rate over the past five years.

The North Central Washington schools honored include:

  • Brewster High School, Brewster
  • Brewster Middle School, Brewster
  • Grant Elementary, East Wenatchee
  • Lake Roosevelt Jr-Sr High, Grand Coulee
  • Moses Lake High School, Moses Lake
  • Oroville Middle-High School, Oroville
  • Valley Academy of Learning, Wenatchee


Brewster High School, Grant Elementary, Oroville Middle-High School and Valley Academy of Learning are all repeat winners.

“We are so proud of our schools and the comprehensive focus on learning and student achievement. Our students are the future, and at the NCESD we see first-hand the level of commitment and dedication to teaching and learning so that our students can succeed. This is a tremendous honor for each of the schools,” explained North Central Educational Service District Superintendent, Dr. Michelle Price.