Return to Headlines

2016 School of Distinction

North Central ESD would like to extend our congratulations to our region’s 2016 School of Distinction Award winnersOur regional awardees this year include: Brewster High School, Almira Coulee-Hartline High School, Grant Elementary School, Eastmont and Valley Academy of Learning Middle School, Wenatchee.


The 2016 School of Distinction award winners include 51 elementary schools, 20 middle/junior high schools and 23 high schools. This award is the tenth annual School of Distinction award in Washington State and includes 36 schools who are first‐time winners. These districts and schools were notified last week of the recognition by the Center for Educational Effectiveness (CEE) and their partner organizations that have recognized schools all over the state for continuous and substantive and sustained improvement in English language arts and math over a five-year period.

Now in its 10thyear, the School of Distinction (SOD) awards were created in the summer of 2007 to recognize the highest improving schools in Washington State. The awards are not intended as a replacement for state and federal accountability measures of school performance, but rather as a supplemental measure to recognize and celebrate school staff, students, and leaders who improve performance for all students over a sustained period of time in English language arts (ELA) and mathematics. For additional information, please visit The Center for Educational Effectiveness (CEE) website at:

2016 School of Distinction Award Winners

2016 School of Distinction Repeat Winners