The NCESD Board of Directors is comprised of seven individuals who are elected by local school board members in each of our 29 client school districts. Each brings a wealth of background and experience in both the private and public sector to their work on the NCESD Board.

In continued efforts to maintain direction and focus, the NCESD Board of Directors has laid out the Board’s work in a new format – an NCESD Board Work Plan.  The purpose of the Annual Work Plan is two-fold. First, the plan ensures that the Board responds to and aligns with local school districts and NCESD initiatives. Second, that the Board considers stakeholder perspectives and aligns with stakeholder expectations, incorporating annual NCESD Owners Summit input into plan development. The Annual Work Plan serves to:

  • Identify the Board’s core priorities
  • Outline an actionable plan to accomplish the priorities
  • Establish a timeline of important events in chronological and relationship order over an 18-month period.
  • Create a visual and transparent display of the Board’s work

Read our latest Board to Board newsletters here:

The NCESD Board meets on the 4th Wednesday of each month, except during holidays or special events.  Start time is 12:00 p.m.  2018-2019 NCESD Board meetings are scheduled as follows:

December 19, 2018
January 23, 2019
February 27, 2019
March 27, 2019
April 24, 2019
May 22, 2019
June 26, 2019
August 28, 2019

Read past Board Agendas and Minutes

Board Policies and Procedures

Click the links below to access Board Policies and Procedures:


The NCESD Board is comprised of the following Directors:

District 1 Representative

Harlan Warner, Chair
Box 36
Conconully, WA 98819





Harlan Warner, Director District #1 Representative, is Chair of the North Central ESD Board. He is the retired manager of Okanogan County Public Utility District. He represents Okanogan, Omak, Oroville, and Tonasket School Districts. Harlan has served on the ESD Board for nearly 29 years.

District 2 Representative

Audrey Bessonette was recently appointed to fill the NCESD Board District 2 position.  Audrey was recently promoted to commercial banking team leader of the Chelan-Douglas Commercial Banking Group. A Cashmere native, Audrey joined Peoples Bank in 2004 and holds a Bachelor of Arts from Central Washington University where she studied business administration.

District 3 Representative

Ed Daling
15400 US Hwy 2
Waterville, WA  98858




Ed Daling is retired from owning and operating the Waterville Family Grocery. Ed represents Brewster, Bridgeport, Coulee-Hartline, Grand Coulee Dam, Mansfield, Nespelem, Orondo, Palisades, Pateros, Methow Valley, and Waterville School Districts.  Ed has served on the ESD Board for over 25 years.

District 4 Representative

Larry MacGuffie
46 Crest Drive
Ephrata, WA 98823




Larry MacGuffie is the Vice-Chair of the Board, recently retired from Canfield and Associates in Ephrata. Before that, he served 31 years as a classroom teacher, school psychologist, director of special services, director of Columbia Basin Alternative High School and superintendent of Ephrata School District before his retirement in 1997.  Larry represents Ephrata, Quincy, Soap Lake, Warden, and Wilson Creek School Districts as District #4 Representative.

District 5 Representative

Mary Kunkle
603 Lupine
Moses Lake, WA 98837

Mary Kunkle, who serves as the District 5 Representative, is retired from Grant County PUD in Ephrata, where she served as Treasurer. Mary represents Moses Lake School District. She has served on the ESD Board over 20 years.

District 6 Representative

Marcia Henkle
1940 Eastmont Avenue
East Wenatchee, WA 98802





Marcia Henkle serves as NCESD District 6 and AESD/Legislative Representative.  Marcia represents Eastmont School District and the southern portion of the Wenatchee School District. She recently retired from her position as regional director of the WA State Employment Security Department, which administers Employment Security Departments’ employment and training programs in WorkSource offices in NCW.  Marcia was raised in Douglas County on a wheat ranch. She has taught high school and community college, including Wenatchee Valley College, and also operated Trend College in East Wenatchee.

District 7 Representative

Susan Albert was elected to serve as NCESD District 7 Representative and began her service in January 2018.  This position represents the northern portion of the Wenatchee School District. She retired from her 42-year educational career in 2015 where she served as teacher, administrator, professor and principal.  Susan remains involved in a variety of volunteer activities.







Dr. Michelle Price
430 Olds Station Rd.
Wenatchee, WA 98801

Dr. Price began her service as NCESD Superintendent on July 1, 2017. Michelle’s background includes experience as a teacher, principal, assistant superintendent as well as Moses Lake School District Superintendent, where she served 27 years.

Michelle holds a Doctorate Degree from Washington State University and served as President for the Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA) in 2014-15. She is currently a member of the National Executive Committee of the American Association of School Administrators.