Excellence in Education Award Recipients Announced

Published On: May 21st, 2020|Categories: Awards, News|
Excellence in Education Award Recipients Announced

North Central Educational Service District (NCESD) has announced the staff honored during the 35th annual Excellence in Education Awards. This year, 53 award recipients have been chosen by participating school districts in Chelan, Douglas, Grant and Okanogan Counties. The selection process is decided upon by the administration team of each school district.

The Excellence in Education Awards began in 1985 and is a recognition program to honor, recognize and say “thank you” in a formal manner to extraordinary, dedicated certificated and classified individuals who give daily and unselfishly to the students in our schools.

Each spring, district staff, friends and family of the award recipients gather together for each County Excellence Banquet – an evening of dinner, entertainment, and recognition of excellence. Due to Covid-19, we are unable to hold the banquets this year but still recognize and congratulate each recipient for their efforts to support North Central Washington students, schools, and communities. Each recipient will be presented with an Excellence in Education Award from North Central ESD.

This year’s recipients are as follows:

Douglas County

School District Name Position/Building
Waterville Rebecca I’Anson Art Teacher K-12

Waterville School

Tamra Avey Custodian

Waterville School

Mansfield Mikia Schmidt 1st/2nd grade teacher

Mansfield Ele.

Bill Bayless Bus Driver

Mansfield SD

Eastmont Jennifer Crane Teacher

Eastmont JH

Julie Pierson Counselor

Sterling MS

Angie Willms Teacher

Kenroy Ele.

Nan Cuevas Special Prog/MV Liaison

Eastmont SD

Pam Newton Paraeducator

Cascade Ele.

Kim Osborn Paraeducator

Lee Ele.

Orondo Patricia Staff 4th Grade Teacher

Orondo Ele./MS

Teresa Bryant Office Mgr.

Orondo Ele./MS


Okanogan County

School District Name Position/Building
Omak Brandy Popelier 2nd Grade Teacher

North Ele.

Penny Statler Bus Driver

Bus Garage

Tonasket Christine Olson 5th Grade Teacher

Tonasket Ele.

Kelli Burton MS Sped Paraeducator

Tonasket MS

Nespelem Ron Frescas 4th Grade Teacher

Nespelem Ele.

Marion Ives Language/Culture Coord.

Nespelem Ele.

Okanogan Steve Streeter 6th Grade Teacher

Okanogan MS

Teri Ewer Secretary

Okanogan High School

Bridgeport Craig Burke PE/Health

Bridgeport Ele.

Denise Crocker Paraeducator

Bridgeport MS

Pateros Amy Stennes Counselor


Megan Sherard Paraprofessional

Pateros SD

Brewster Kyona Cavadini 8th Grade Language Arts

Middle School

Roni Jarrell Paraeducator

Brewster SD

John Mustoe Bus Driver

Brewster SD


Grant County

School District Name Position/Building
Warden Bert “Shelby” Cade Ele. Counselor

Warden Ele.

Lili Gomez Secretary

Warden SD

Quincy Tod Heikes Science Teacher

Quincy HS

Jessica Blancos Executive Assistant

Quincy SD

Grand Coulee Dam Karen Pace Music Teacher


Terry Owen Bus Driver


Royal Chris Palmer Teacher

Royal Intermediate

Juan Villafana Bus Mechanic

Royal SD

Moses Lake Dan Leighton Music Teacher

Garden Hts. Ele.

Sheila Kries Assistant Principal

Moses Lake H.S.

Monica McAtee Instructional Coach

Learning Services Center (Team Award)

Stefan Troutman Instructional Coach

Learning Services Center (Team Award)

Michelle Serrano Head Cook

Knolls Vista Ele.

Stefanie Lowry Director of Finance

Learning Services Center

Kimberly Palmer Classified Staff Team Award

Moses Lake H.S.

Veronica Pruneda Classified Staff Team Award

Moses lake H.S.

Chelan County

School District Name Position/Building
Wenatchee Juan Loera Criminal Justice/Police Science


Bob Sanford Social Worker

Wenatchee HS

Beth Hammerberg Science Teacher

Orchard MS

Lance Coleman HVAC Technician


Cascade Kelly Coulter Intervention Specialist

Alpine Lakes Ele.

Dylan Morrison Custodian

Alpine Lake Ele.

Manson Kate Sorenson H.S. Teacher
Steve Nygreen M.S. Teacher
Cassie Williams 5th Grade Teacher
Maria Zaragoza Health Room Assistant

“We are so proud of all the outstanding efforts happening daily within our districts. It is our pleasure to recognize these recipients, each of whom consistently goes above and beyond expectations to meet the needs of students. It is a privilege to honor their efforts,” explained Superintendent Dr. Michelle Price.

The North Central Educational Service District is a resource to the 29 districts within the four-county service area, providing professional and timely tools to meet the needs of individual schools and districts, and a reliable point of education-related information for the communities served. The NCESD is a respected resource to other ESDs throughout Washington State.



Share this article!